Other Stations - - Who's Who - Details

Q Morning Zoo

The “Q Morning Zoo” on Q105 WRBQ was first conceptualized by Tampa radio personalities Scott Shannon and Cleveland Wheeler in 1980. Named for the wackiness and zaniness of its participants, activities, bits and overall demeanor, the show was a huge success and usually had an unprecedented market share in the 20’s – so highly rated it began to be imitated at stations all across the country.

At one point, the show aired live on local television each morning (as the “Q Zoo Tube”) over the Home Shopping Network’s Tampa flagship station WBHS-TV Channel 50, Lakeland’s WTMV Channel 32 (“V32”), and WTTA-TV Channel 38 in St. Petersburg. The show’s run as Tampa Bay’s morning leader lasted until around 1990 when it was defeated as morning drive’s top dog by a pig, “The Power Pig,” 93.3 WFLZ.

Show cast members, in addition to Scott Shannon and Cleveland Wheeler, included Tedd Webb, Arch Deal, Nancy Alexander, 98 Mike, Pat George, Roger P. Schulman, and Pat Brooks. When Shannon left the show in 1984, Terrence McKeever and Jack Harris joined the crew.


Station History

1981 - 1990 Other Tampa Bay Area Stations (Featured Program)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2023 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.