Other Stations - Other Tampa Bay Area Stations - Who's Who - Details

The following staff worked at the station during the program's run.

WWJB - A History
WTUN - A History
WYND - A History
WWBA AM & FM - A History
WEBK - A History
WKXY - A History
WPIN AM & FM - A History
WAZE - A History
WTRL - A History
WTMP AM & FM - A History
WPAS - A History
WBRD AM & FM - A History
WPKM - A History
WDCF - A History
WBOY - A History
WENG - A History
WIOK - A History
WDCL - A History
WCLE - A History
WILZ - A History
WDHL - A History
WSOL - A History
WTAN AM & FM - A History
WUSF - A History
WGNB AM & FM - A History
WKTS - A History
WKGA - A History
WQXM - A History
WRBB - A History
WZRH - A History
WGNP - A History
WMBR - A History
WTCX - A History
WSAF AM & FM - A History
WZST - A History
WYAK - A History
WAMR AM & FM - A History
WWTB - A History
WSUN AM & FM - A History
WFLA AM & FM - A History
WINQ - A History
WHBO - A History
WALT - A History
WDAE AM & FM - A History
WTSP AM & FM - A History
WYOU - A History
WFSO - A History
WCWR - A History
WSPB AM & FM - A History
WGUL AM & FM - A History
WLCY AM & FM - A History
Chuck Adams
David Albright
John Alexander
Chuck Alton
Dave Archard
Daisy Mae & Old Brother Charlie Arnett
Bert Arnold
Guy Bagli
Roger Bennett
Big Jon & Sparkie
Dick Bingham
Jay Black
Dick Blanchard
Jack Bland
Otis Boggs
John Bohannon
Jim Boynton
Hugh Brown
Irwin Brown
Charlie Brown
John Browning
John Browning, Jr.
Johnny Byrd
Gil Cabot
Murray Carpenter
Bob Carr
Terry Casey
Brooke Chamberlain
Pat Chamburs
Bob Clark
Marshall Cleaver
King Coleman
Bob Collins
Chip Collins
Roger Connell
Dwight Cook
Al Corbett
Dennis Crandall
Rick Crandall
Dick Crippen
Joe Culbreath
Bob Currie
Joyce Dae
Eugene Danzey
Johnny Dark
Fred Davy
Glen Dill
Scott Dilworth
Johnny Dollar
Tom Drane
Dean Drapin
Bill Dudley
Al Dunaway
Tom Dunkin
Harry Dunlap
Hampton Dunn
Larry Elliston
Frank Evans
JR Evans
Ruben Fabelo
Wayne Fariss
Scott Farrell
Jack Faulkner
George Fee
A.G. "Tony" Fernandez
Charles Fernandez
Bonita Fishback
Salty Sol Fleischman
Florida Calling
Bill Floyd
Al Ford
Trooper Jim Foster
Steve Fredericks
Al Gale
Woody Garcia
Carl Glicken
Jerry Good
Stan Grams
Joe Gratz
Edee Greene
Dottie Groven
Marlen Hager
Chuck Harder
Dave Harrell
Jim Harriott
Ron Hart
Ken Hart
George Harvey
Rick Hatfield
Paul Hayes
Ed Heffington
Vinnie Heiser
Mike Helminski
Bobby Hicks
Glen Hill
Bob Hoffer
Allan Hollar
Herb Hunt
Billy Jay
Warren Johnson
Dan Johnson
Jim Johnson (WHBO)
Norman Jones
Jack Kane
Warren Kauffman
Karol Kelly
Don Kimberlin
Max Kimbrel
Jerry Krumbholz
Cuz'n Larry Lane
Bob Larkin
Frank Laseter
Sam Latimer
Ernie Lee
Curt Leonard
Louis Link
Bandel Linn
Clair Linn
Bobby Lord
Bobby Lyons
Bob Mackey
Steve Manuel
Dick Marsh
Beecher Martin
E. Martin
Charlene Mathies
Tom Matthews
Burl McCarty
Mark McGee
Gerald McGougan
Bernie McGovern
Gene McKay
Ron McKenney
John Meder
Joe Mitchell
Spencer Mitchell
Mike Moore
Rick Morgan
Jeff Moshier
Hal Murray
Robert Nelson
Robert Nelson
Gerald Newton
Terry Nichols
Roy Nilson
Larry O'Brien
Joe O'Grady
Ron O'Quinn
Scott Owens
Don Owens
Frank Parker
Priscilla Parker
Paul Harvey News
Rich Pauley
Ed Pendino
Mel Phillips
Bill Polk
Jon Powers
Nelson Poynter
George Prescott
Ed Pyle
Rex Rand
Fran Ratteree
Marv Ray
Ken Reitz
Art Reuben
Paul Reynolds
Ed Ripley
Rock Robbins
Pasco Roberts
Major George Robinson
Gene Robinson
J. Paul Robinson
John Rode
Robert Rounsaville
Daylon Rushing
Dayton Saltsman
Drew Shankle
Harvey Sheldon
Alvis Sherouse
Cal Shrum
Ken Skelton
Gordon Solie
Neil Spencer
Dick Stambaugh
Jim Stanley
Bob Stanton
Bill Steis
Jack Stir
Al Stockmeier
Bob Stone
Hack Swain
Jack Swift
Bill Swisher
Wes Talbot
Elmo Tanner
Goldie Thompson
Mel Tinney
Walter Tison
Tim Trott
Larry Vance
Bob Vaughn
Tony Vigue
Jim Walter
Al Waters
James Wayman
Tedd Webb
Robert Weeks
Jack Weldon
William Wells
Jim West
Mark Wheeler
Herold White
Dick Whiting
Dick Wilson
Bill Winters
Terry Wood
Woody Wooden
John Wright

The Breakfast Club

“The Breakfast Club” was a long-running ABC radio morning variety hour (and briefly on ABC-TV in 1954-1955) which began in 1933 when host Don McNeill took over an un-sponsored program called “The Pepper Pot” on the NBC Blue network (which later became ABC). McNeill re-named it “The Breakfast Club” and divided the hour into four segments called “the four calls to breakfast,” with each “call” resulting in a march around the breakfast table.

For the first 15 years the 9 AM show originated over WLS from Chicago’s Merchandise Mart and during its last 20 years on the air, from various Chicago hotels including the Allerton. The combination of music, informal talk, and jokes, much of it of a topical nature, made the show so popular that McNeill has been credited as the first person to make morning talk and variety a viable radio format.

In addition to special guests, there were “regulars” on the show like Aunt Fanny (Fran Allison of television’s “Kukla, Fran & Ollie”), comic Sam Cowling, Captain Stubby and the Buccaneers, singers Johnny Desmond and Annette King (who went on to become an Illinois congresswoman for five terms from 1962 to 1971 under her real name Charlotte Thompson Reid), and Eddie Ballantine and his Orchestra. There were also conversations with members of the studio audience and the observance of a moment of silent prayer each morning.

McNeill avoided politics, except for his strong support of public prayer, but he did run for president in 1948 on the Laugh Party ticket. Many of his guests were top celebrities and also fans of the show, including Jimmy Stewart, Lucille Ball, and Jerry Lewis. 

After a remarkable 35-year network run, much of it sponsored by Swift and Company, “The Breakfast Club” ended production on December 27, 1968. The Tampa Bay ABC affiliate, WSUN, carried the show all the way to the final broadcast while Orlando’s WHOO dropped it from their daily schedule in 1966.

Station History

1933 - 1968 Other Tampa Bay Area Stations (Featured Program)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2018 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.