Other Stations - Other Polk County Stations - Who's Who - Details

Jim's Co-Workers

WSIR - A History
WTWB - A History
WINT AM & FM - A History
WZNG - A History
WPUL - A History
WIPC - A History
WBAR - A History
WXKL - A History
WHFL - A History
WHAN - A History
Arch Abernethy
Tom Anthony
Daisy Mae & Old Brother Charlie Arnett
Doug Baker
Nellie Barber
Ken Barfield
Wes Belisle
Frank Berry
Chuck Bishop
Dick Boyce
Leroy Bradley
Ronny Brown
Dave & Diane Buerger
Al Cash
Nancy Cattarius
Ed Cole
Peggy Cook
Ken Copper
Larry Cox
Orden Craig
Spencer Danes
Bill Davis
Dave Day
Rick Elmhorst
Angelo Fazzari
Larry Flegle
Florida Citrus Mutual Calling
John Gilman
Craig Harper
Bob Helmick
Mike Helminski
Glen Hill
Steve Howard
Cactus Ken
Don Lamerson
Doug Montgomery
Tom Moore
Pat Morgan
Dan O'Day
Gail O'Doski
Bruce Parker
Joe Penny
Bob Prescott
Norman Protsman
Jay Rich
Larry Rollins
Lloyd Scott, Jr.
Jim Sebesta
Jack Shaw
Allen Shaw
Ken Shroyer
Arnold Silvert
Tom Thornburg
Jacki West
Buck Williams
Dave Wright
Lindsey Yates
Reba Zoellner

Jim Greenfield

Jim attended Butler University in Indianapolis, IN where he studied radio communications. During the Korean War, he served in the Army as a big-band deejay for Armed Forces Radio. After the war, he and his wife moved to Winter Haven, FL.

His Polk County radio career began in news at WSIR in 1954. Because he seemed to know everyone and everything that went on in the town, he picked up the moniker, “Mr. Winter Haven.”

In the 1960’s and 1970’s the Indiana native worked at other stations in the Winter Haven area, including 97.5 WHFL (now WPCV), Cypress Gardens’ WGTO, and WVFM in Lakeland. He returned to Winter Haven and WSIR in 1986, followed by five years at WHNR across town.

In 1995 Jim became a reporter for WONN in Lakeland, leaving in 2005 to take the position of Media Coordinator for the City of Winter Haven. Part of his job there included producing the radio program “Winter Haven Focus” that ran on several area stations.

He was busy outside his radio obligations, as well. He was a past president of the Winter Haven Lions Club, past member of the Board of Directors of the Dick Pope Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association, and a recipient of its President’s Award. In 1977-1978, he was named Agribusiness Broadcaster of the Year by the Agribusiness Institute of Florida.

Jim passed away August 22, 2017 at the age of 88.

Station History

1958 - 1976 Other Polk County Stations (News)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2022 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.