Who's Who at WPLA

The following staff worked at the station during the program's run.

Doretha Adams
Ron Baxley
Al Berry
John Brill
Al Brock
Joy Burt
Dave Campbell
Bob Collins
Eileen Connor
B. Mason Dean
Paul Delaney
June DeShong
Dick Elliott
Mary Jim Everidge
Della Flewellan
Trooper Jim Foster
George Friend
Sharon Garrison
Gospel Homecoming
Dennis Hair
Ron Haley
Dale Hall
Charles Hasbrouck
Don Heither
Ernest Holbrook
Henry Jay
Mike Keen
Wayne Kysor
Ed LaFumee
Mike Lusk
Charlie Mack
Kevin MacKenzie
Jim Maloy
Pat Morgan
Rick Morgan
Terry Nichols
Joe Penny
Lola Pullen
Ed Pyle
Teresa Reeves
Jim Richardson
Jackie Ripley
Ed Ripley
Randy Robinson
Hank Robinson
Jack Rushing
Frank Schulte
Dick Shiflett
Ken Shroyer
Clay Smith
Doris Smith
Ercelle Smith
Steve Smith
W. A. Smith
Steve Sparkman
This 'n That
Don Wallis
Jim Ward
Faye Whitehead
Norma Kay Wilson
Joe Wilson
Lindsey Yates

Florida Citrus Mutual Calling

Florida Citrus Mutual Calling was a weekly public service program produced from 1958 to 1979 by Florida Citrus Mutual. The 15-minute program, cut to five minutes in length by the 1970’s, dealt with issues and news of interest to the organization’s member growers and was hosted by Frank Nesbitt, Tom Osborne, Don Farmer, and Earl Wells during its 21-year run.

Mutual initially taped the shows at Lakeland’s WLAK but eventually purchased its own recording equipment and recorded them at its downtown Lakeland headquarters. The tapes were then mailed to stations in the citrus growing areas of the state which usually aired them on the weekends.

Station History

1958 - 1979 WPLA (Featured Program)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2023 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.